Real Estate Societies in Rahim yar khan

Hot Properties In Rahim yar khan

There are no hot properties in Rahim-yar-khan

Related Properties

About Rahim yar khan

Rahim yar khan (Old Name : Naushehra)

Date Of Built: 1943       

 Population Ranking in Pakistan:  9th

Area:      45Km2

Union Councils in Rahim yar khan: 139

Rahim yar khan height from sea level: 80m  


Rahim yar khan (Tilor Hunting)

Rahim yar khan postal code: 64200.

                                                                  Transportation In Rahim yar khan

     Public Transportation

         Highway Road


           Railway Station



Rahim yar khan

Rahim Yar Khan has had the status of a separate district since 1943. The district derives its name from its headquarters, the city of Rahim Yar Khan, which was known as "Naushehra" until 1881. To avoid confusion with the similarly named city of Nowshera, the ruler of Bahawalpur, Nawab Sadiq Khan IV, renamed it after his first son, Rahim Yar Khan.

The district area was an agricultural region with forests during the Indus Valley Civilization. The Vedic period is characterized by Indo-Aryan culture that invaded from Central Asia and settled in the Punjab region. The Kambojas, Daradas, Kaikayas, Madras, Pauravas, Yaudheyas, Malavas and Kurus invaded, settled and ruled ancient Punjab region. After overrunning the Achaemenid Empire in 331 BCE, Alexander marched into present-day Punjab region with an army of 50,000. The Rahim Yar Khan was ruled by Maurya Empire, Indo-Greek kingdom, Kushan Empire, Gupta Empire, White Huns, Kushano-Hephthalites and Shahi kingdoms.

During the reign of Raja Dahir, some Arab ships carrying merchandise were attacked and plundered by his subjects. Arabs demanded compensation and on refusal by Raja Dahir, Muhammad Bin Qasim invaded this area in April 712 and conquered the whole territory up to Multan. Dahir was killed in the battle at Pawar. The territory remained under the various governors appointed by the Umayyad and Abbasid from 712-870. In 871 the powers of Caliphs declined and the province of Sindh slipped from their control. Sindh went under the Balkh dynasty when two principalities, Mansura and Multan (current Bahawalpur Division) were also captured by Balkhis. The tribes known as Arain tribes are the descendants of those Arab soldiers who accompanied Muhammad Bin Qasim. The bulk of Arab tribesmen, the forefathers of Arains were split towards central and eastern region of the Punjab and reverted towards the district in eighteenth century. Some of them remained in southern region of the Punjab and known as Raisti Arain. There is also considerable Saraiki Arain population found too in the district. Punjab region became predominantly Muslim due to missionary Sufi saints whose dargahs dot the landscape of Punjab region. In the 1578 the territory was invaded and conquered by the Ghjori Sultans of Delhi, who were succeeded by the Mughals. The exodus of the Abbasides nobles of Egypt to India had already started in the reign of Muhammad Taughlak Bin Ghiasuddin. Amir Muhammad Mubarik Khan 1, Abbasi who came to power in 1702, was an able commander and leader. Throughout his reign he had to fight many battles against the Kalhoras. He abdicated in 1723 in favour of his son, Sadiq Mohammad Khan 1, who was killed in battle with Khuda Yar Kalhora. Amir Mohammad Bahawalpur Khan 1 (1746–1949) ascended the throne in 1746. During his short rule, he built the towns of Bahawalpur, Qaimpur, Hasilpur, Tranda Ali Murad Khan, Shabazpur and Mohammadpur Lamman. During his reign three canals, namely Khan Wah, Qutab Wah and Wahi Qaider Dina, were dug. As a result, the agriculture of the state improved considerably, and the people became prosperous. In 1776, the Sikhs confederates Jhanda Singh, Ganda Singh and Hari Singh invaded the Amir's trans-sutlej territories but were repulsed. Amir Mohammad Mubarik Khan II Abbasi was an able administrator and a powerful ruler. He took keen interest in building his army. Many of the forts on the border of the state were built during his reign. He kept the Sikhs in check. Many canals on which the prosperity of the district depended were constructed during his time.

The first treaty between Bahawalpur and the British government was affected in 1883, which remained in force till 14 August 1947, when the state acceded to Pakistan. On the death of Amir Bahawal Khan III, Sadiq Mohammad Khan III, (1852–1853) was crowned as Amir. On assuming rule, he confined Prince Haji Khan and his brothers and treated them harshly. A large number of the Bahawalpur army was demobilized. All the grants, rights and claims of Daudpotas and other usual expenses were diminished and abolished. These events made the Amir unpopular. On the 29th of Rabi-ul-Sani, 1269 A.H., Fateh Garh Fort was attacked at night. Prince Haji Khan, who was kept as a prisoner, was freed and brought to Khanpur. Haji Khan entered Ahmedpur East without any resistance and Sadiq Muhammad Khan III was imprisoned. Prince Rahim Yar Khan succeeded his father, the late Amir Fateh Khan Abbasi, as Muhammmad Bahawal Khan IV (1858–1866). He was poisoned and died on 25 March 1866. On the death of Bahawal Khan IV, Sir Sadiq Muhammad Khan IV was crowned when he was four and half years old. He was installed in 1879, when he attained maturity. In the interim period from 1866 to 1879, British officers supervised the state. Amir Muhammad Bahawal Khan V, the next successor, was about 16 years old; he ruled the state till 1947 when he acceded Bahawalpur state to dominion of Pakistan. Later on, in 1955 all provinces in west Pakistan were merged to make "One unit" for operational and administrative purpose. After 16 years, after fall of Dhaka, in West Pakistan the provincial administration was restored and Bahawalpur state (which is 22% of Punjab in area) was merged with Punjab province.

                                                          Rahim yar khan District

   Rahim yar khan City

      Khanpur Town

        Liaqatpur Town

     Sadiqabad Town

         40 UC

        28 UC

             25 UC

           29 UC


Rahim yar khan Weather

  • Latitude

  • Longitude

  • Temperature


  • Main

  • Description

  • Clouds

  • Wind Speed

  • Wind Deg

  • Pressure

  • Sunrise


  • Sunset


Business Cards

  • Business Cards

Our Sponsors

  • Sponsers
  • Sponsers
  • Sponsers
  • Sponsers